Superzoom facility

Focusing the X-rays on the tiniest spot leads to images that are hundreds of times more detailed than anything seen before. This allows experiments to be carried out on all length and time scales that are relevant to biological, chemical and physical processes.

DESY plans to expand its X-ray source PETRA III to become the ultimate 3D X-ray microscope PETRA IV. The new facility wil offer possibilities for analyses that are unparalleled anywhere in the world, zooming deep inside all kinds of materials. PETRA IV will provide improved techniques for studying complex processes in nature and technology in real time and under realistic operating conditions.

Visual representation of the bundled X-ray beam of PETRA IV, which is juxtaposed with three samples in a size ratio ranging from millimetres to micrometres to nanometres. The arrangement of the samples makes it clear that the same sample can be X-rayed at different levels at the same time.
PETRA IV’s extremely focused X-rays will shine through objects in their natural setting. This will allow their spatial structure to be mapped from the macroscopic level down to the nanocosmos of atoms. Image: DESY, Science Communication Lab

For the first time, researchers will then be able to illuminate individual objects on the nanometre scale and record the structure, energetics and function of molecular units in materials and cells under realistic conditions. PETRA IV can thus contribute to the development of materials and technologies of the future. This promises new perspectives for basic research and high technology.

“PETRA IV will revolutionise X-ray imaging. For the first time, natural phenomena in the nanocosmos can be recorded live and non-destructively.”
Portrait of Helmut Dosch
Prof. Helmut Dosch Chairman of DESY’s Board of Directors

Enabling innovative technologies

  • Materials for sustainable batteries

  • High-efficiency catalysts for producing hydrogen

  • Tailor-made materials for quantum technologies

  • Development of new drugs

A milestone for the overall project

The extensive project is currently in the phase of technical planning, which will be completed with the publication of the “Technical Design Report” (TDR) by mid-2023. The TDR will contain the technical building plans for the accelerator, the X-ray beamlines and the surrounding infrastructure. In addition, it will outline the stages of construction and the order in which they are to be carried out. 

More about the beamlines

More about the accelerator

Image and video: DESY, Science Communication Lab
“PETRA IV will be the world’s best fourth-generation synchrotron radiation source.”
Portrait of Harald Reichert
Harald Reichert PETRA IV project leader

In Grenoble, France, a similar radiation source is already in operation at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF). Its conversion to a fourth-generation X-ray light source was significantly helped by physicist Harald Reichert, the former research director at ESRF. At DESY, Harald Reichert has taken on the task of a PETRA IV project leader.

View into the working area of a beamline: Surrounded by man-sized equipment made of metallic materials, a man prepares a sample to carry out an experiment at PETRA III.

Partner for research and industry

Users from science and industry can use PETRA VI for their research and development. A special access will be set up that is tailored to the needs of users from industry and business.

Research campus of the future

DESY’s research infrastructure already offers unique opportunities for investigation and experimentation to achieve advances in innovation, technology and medicine. Numerous university institutes and research facilities have settled on the campus. In addition, further new facilities, centres and research buildings are to be built around the DESY campus by 2040.

PETRA IV will be a central large-scale research facility in the future Science City Hamburg Bahrenfeld.

Partners 

 

Accelerating careers

Some 2900 DESY employees work at DESY in a wide variety of occupations. Even now, DESY offers a large number of challenging scientific and non-scientific positions with very good career opportunities in connection with implementing the large-scale PETRA IV project. Please feel free to apply online.

Description of campus life at DESY
On the DESY campus in Hamburg. Image: DESY
Frequently asked questions

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Portrait of Heidrun Hillen
Press and Media / Communication

Heidrun Hillen

I am happy to answer your questions about PETRA IV.

Further research topics

Superzoom-Anlage

Durch Fokussierung des Röntgenlichts auf kleinsten Fleck entstehen 100-mal detailreichere Bilder als zuvor. Das macht Experimente auf allen relevanten Längen- und Zeitskalen für biologische, chemische und physikalische Prozesse möglich.

DESY plant, seine Röntgenlichtquelle PETRA III zum ultimativen 3D-Röntgenmikroskop PETRA IV auszubauen. Die neue Anlage bietet weltweit einmalige Analysemöglichkeiten und zoomt tief in Materialien aller Art hinein. PETRA IV wird verbesserte Methoden zur Untersuchung von komplexen Prozessen in Natur und Technik in Echtzeit und unter realistischen Betriebsbedingungen ermöglichen.

Visuelle Darstellung des gebündelten Röntgenlichtstrahls von PETRA IV, dem drei Proben im Größenverhältnis vom Millimeter über Mikrometer bis zum Nanometer gegenüber gestellt sind. Die Anordnung der Proben verdeutlicht, dass man auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen dieselbe Probe gleichzeitig durchleuchten kann.
Die extrem gebündelten Röntgenstrahlen von PETRA IV durchleuchten Objekte in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung. So lässt sich ihre räumliche Struktur von der makroskopischen Ebene bis hinunter in den Nanokosmos der Atome abbilden. Bild: DESY, Science Communication Lab

Erstmals können Forschende dann einzelne Objekte im Nanometerbereich beleuchten und die Struktur, Energetik und Funktion molekularer Einheiten in Materialien und Zellen unter realistischen Bedingungen erfassen. Damit kann PETRA IV zur Entwicklung von Materialien und Technologien der Zukunft beitragen. Das verspricht neue Perspektiven für Grundlagenforschung und Hochtechnologie. 

„PETRA IV wird die Röntgenbildgebung revolutionieren. Erstmals lassen sich Naturphänomene im Nanokosmos live und zerstörungsfrei filmen.“
Portrait-Foto von Helmut Dosch
Prof. Helmut Dosch Vorsitzender des DESY-Direktoriums

Innovative Technologien ermöglichen

  • Nachhaltige Batteriematerialien
  • Hocheffiziente Katalysatoren für die Wasserstoffherstellung
  • Maßgeschneiderte Materialien für Quantentechnologien
  • Entwicklung neuer Medikamente

Ein Meilenstein für das Gesamtprojekt

Das umfangreiche Projekt befindet sich derzeit in der technischen Planungsphase, die mit der Veröffentlichung des „Technical Design Report“ (TDR) bis Mitte 2023 abgeschlossen sein wird. Der TDR enthält die technischen Baupläne des Beschleunigers, der Röntgenstrahlführungen und der umgebenden Infrastruktur. Außerdem werden hier die Baumaßnahmen und deren Ablauf skizziert.

Mehr zu den Strahlführungen: Beamlines

Mehr zum Beschleuniger

Bild und Video: DESY, Science Communication Lab
„PETRA IV wird die weltbeste Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle der vierten Generation sein.“
Harald Reichert
Harald Reichert PETRA IV-Projektleiter

Im französischen Grenoble ist an der Europäischen Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle (ESRF) eine ähnliche Strahlungsquelle bereits in Betrieb. Deren Umbau zu einer Röntgenlichtquelle der vierten Generation wurde von Physiker Harald Reichert, dem ehemaligen Forschungsdirektor der ESRF, maßgeblich mitgestaltet. Bei DESY hat Harald Reichert die Aufgabe eines PETRA IV-Projektleiters übernommen. 

Blick in den Arbeitsbereich eines Beschleunigers: Ein Forscher präpariert eine Probe, um damit ein Experiment am Beschleuniger PETRA 3 durchzuführen.

Partner für Forschung und Industrie

Anwenderinnen und Anwender aus Wissenschaft und Industrie können PETRA VI für ihre Forschung und Entwicklung nutzen. Ein spezieller Zugang wird eingerichtet, der auf die Bedürfnisse von Nutzerinnen und Nutzern aus Industrie und Wirtschaft zugeschnitten ist.

Forschungscampus der Zukunft

Die Forschungsinfrastruktur von DESY bietet schon heute einmalige Untersuchungs- und Experimentiermöglichkeiten, um Fortschritte in Innovation, Technik und Medizin zu erreichen. Zahlreiche universitäre Institute und Forschungseinrichtungen haben sich auf dem Campus angesiedelt. Bis zum Jahr 2040 sollen außerdem rund um den DESY-Campus weitere neue Anlagen, Zentren und Forschungsgebäude entstehen.

PETRA IV wird in der zukünftigen Science City Hamburg Bahrenfeld eine zentrale Großforschungsanlage sein.

Kooperationspartner

Karriere beschleunigen

Bei DESY arbeiten rund 2900 Angestellte in verschiedensten Berufsfeldern. Für die Umsetzung des Großprojekts bietet DESY schon jetzt eine Vielzahl anspruchsvoller wissenschaftlicher und nicht-wissenschaftlicher Stellen mit sehr guten Karrieremöglichkeiten. Bewerben Sie sich gerne online.

Darstellung des Campuslebens bei DESY
Auf dem Campus bei DESY in Hamburg. Bild: DESY
Häufig gestellte Fragen

FAQ

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Portrait-Foto von Heidrun Hillen
Presse und Medien / Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Heidrun Hillen

Als Ansprechpartnerin im PETRA IV-Projekt bin ich für Sie da. 

Weitere Forschungsthemen